Visiting the Huye Mountain Coffee Plantation and Washing Station

Anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that I truly enjoy drinking coffee. With my trusty travel mug, I have coffee in the car, a bus, in my office, at home and even in class. My students in Rwanda wondered what was in the cup I would bring to class everyday. They had never seen a professor bring coffee (or any drink for that matter) in a travel mug to class.

From years of experience, I know there are many differences in the flavors of coffee, but I did not have any idea what makes some coffee taste great and others awful.

Being in Rwanda, where coffee is grown all over, I figured it was time to see in detail how coffee was made. Janet and I heard Huye Moutain Coffee offered a good tour, so on our weekend in Huye, we decided to add this to our itinerary.

http://huyemountaincoffee.com/spip.php?rubrique3

I did a little research and came up with a brochure with a contact name and number, and booked us for a Saturday afternoon tour. I had failed to tell Janet that you either did the tour on a bicycle or on foot. Being it was Huye Mountain Coffee, I guess I figured she knew we would be on a mountain. Anyway here are some photos of our informative and fun tour. My only recommendation is bring good walking shoes and for women, my wife would recommend not wearing a dress, especially on the “shortcut”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For those of you in the USA, who would like to try a sample of Huye Mountain Coffee, here is the link:

https://www.stumptowncoffee.com/products/rwanda-huye-mountain

It is a bit pricey, but good coffee, from a company that treats it’s employees right is worth it.

Author: oxwoodfarm

I am a Fulbright Scholar spending 6.5 months in Rwanda at the University of Rwanda's College of Agriculture, Animal Science and Veterinary Medicine. I am teaching undergraduate and graduate courses, assisting colleagues with research and grant writing, as well as participating in workshops and programs related to my expertise in animal agriculture and cattle. If you are interested in learning more about Rwanda from my perspective as a Fulbright Scholar I would be happy to answer questions. #Fulbright

Leave a Reply

